How Does Your Garden Grow?

Tomorrow begins Labor Day Weekend, the unofficial end of summer. In some ways it’s a little sad; we didn’t make it to the pool as often as we had planned (due in part to the little one shrieking like a banshee if we put her in even the 1ft kiddie pool) or to the beach at all for that matter, and the little garden we’ve tended since April will soon be withered.

Despite a crippling fear of bees and all things that buzz (they might be bees!), I’ve grown at least some semblance of a garden every year since I was a teenager. I used to help my mom in her garden when I was a kid, which is probably what initially piqued my agricultural interest (doesn’t hurt that Taurus is an earth sign either!), and why I encourage the little one to help me with ours now. She’s always so excited to come out with me whenever I water the plants; the contents of her miniature watering can usually end up on the floor, but she’s learning where her food comes from and how to take care of other living things.

blue morning glories bring happiness!top: morning glories; bottom: chives, peppermint, more morning glories, spearmint, lavender, mums tomatoes (far left), basil, chives, peppermintpink moonflowers... because I love pink!

We don’t have a ton of space on the teeny balcony of our apartment, but we try to make the most of what we have. While we’ve got quite some time before we start thinking about buying a house, that doesn’t mean a girl can’t dream! I’d love to have a lush garden, with tons of brilliant flowers and fresh herbs for cooking. And a lounge area where we can relax and entertain; right now we don’t have enough room for much more than a collapsible tailgating chair with all the planters we have. A spacious yard is definitely a must– I’ve got big plans for it!

gorgeous wrap-around porchgarden paradisecomfy lounge areacozy outdoor fireplace

Leave a comment